CPL 2022 Begins – All You Need To Know & Squad Details

Article Top Banner 1

The biggest party in sport is back. This time it’s bigger & better than ever. The music is loud, the colours even brighter and the cricket is just even better and the sixes a little more further and a little more muscular. If the Sixty T-10 tournament is something to go by, we are in for a cracker jacker of a tournament. And just like always, the CPL will again thrill us and keep us on the edge of our seats. 

Image Source –

The tournament will be played from August 31 to September 30 where 34 T20’s will be played. The 6 teams will battle amongst each other to be crowned the ultimate Caribbean T20 Champions. The St Kitts & Nevis Patriots are the defending champions and the most successful team in the history of the competition.

There are a lot of things to look forward to in this edition of the CPL. There are a few new and exciting names who are playing in this competition for the first time and it will be interesting to see how they adjust to the conditions and how well they can play. Another thing that will excite the fans is that some of the big West Indian names like Dwayne Bravo, Nicholas Pooran etc have shifted from their previous franchises and this will make things even more fun and interesting as it changes the whole dynamic of the tournaments and the individual teams concerned.

Another very important thing is that this tournament will be the stepping stone to the upcoming T20 World Cup. So expect most players to pack some punch and play big and consistent innings in an attempt to secure a place in the World Cup squad and this definitely should spice up things a little more. 

Let us look at the squad details of all the 6 teams in CPL 2022.

Image Source – CricTelegraph.com

CPL 2022 Full Squads

Barbados Royals

Jason Holder, Obed McCoy, Kyle Mayers, Hayden Walsh Jnr, Devon Thomas, Oshane Thomas, Nyeem Young, Quinton de Kock, David Miller, Harry Tector (temporary replacement for Mujeeb ur Rahman), Azam Khan, Corbin Bosch, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Bishop, Justin Greaves, Teddy Bishop and Ramon Simmonds.

Image Source – First Post

Guyana Amazon Warriors

Shimron Hetymer, Odean Smith, Romario Shepherd, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Keemo Paul, Gudakesh Motie, Imran Tahir, Tabriz Shamzi, Colin Ingram, Paul Stirling, Heinrich Klaasen, Shai Hope, Jermaine Blackwood, Veerasammy Permaul, Ronsford Beaton, Matthew Nandu and Junior Sinclair.

Jamaica Tallawahs

Rovman Powell, Fabian Allen, Brandon King, Kennar Lewis, Shamarh Brooks, Mohammad Amir, Sandeep Lamichhane, Imad Wasim, Chris Green, Miguel Pretorius, Raymon Reifer, Jamie Merchant, Amir Jangoo, Shemar Springer, Nicholson Gordon, Kirk McKenzie and Joshua James.

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots

Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Andre Fletcher, Wanindu Hasaranga, Darren Bravo, Sherfane Rutherford, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Dwaine Pretorius, Dewald Brevis, Izharulhaq Naveed, Joshua Da Silva, Jon-Russ Jaggesar, Keacy Carty, Kelvin Pittman and Jaden Carmichael.

Saint Lucia Kings

Roston Chase, Johnson Charles, Kesrick Williams, Alzarri Joseph, Mark Deyal, Jeavor Royal, Faf du Plessis, Tim David, David Wiese, Scott Kuggeleijn, Matthew Forde, Leroy Lugg, Preston McSween, Larry Edwards, Ackeem Auguste and Rivaldo Clarke.

Image Source – Sportskeeda

Trinbago Knight Riders

Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Nicholas Pooran, Akeal Hosein, Jayden Seales, Tion Webster, Maheesh Theekshana, Seekkuge Prasanna, Tim Seifert, Ali Khan, Colin Munro, Khary Pierre, Anderson Phillip, Terrence Hinds, Leonardo Julien and Shaaron Lewis.