WTC: New Zealand crowned champions

Image courtesy Twitter account of Black Caps
Article Top Banner 1

Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor put on a solid partnership as New Zealand chased down the 139-run target at The Hampshire Bowl, Southampton on Wednesday.

As a result, they beat India by 8 wickets and lift the inaugural WTC title.

Ravichandran Ashwin gave India a glimmer of hope by sending back both the New Zealand openers but it was not enough

The off-spinner dismissed openers Tom Latham(9) and Devon Conway (19) but the Indians faltered after that with their fielders dropping two catches.

The Indian batsmen performed poorly on the reserve day as they could only add 106 runs for the loss of 8 wickets.

New Zealand were set a target of 139 runs to win the first-ever Test Championship after bowling out India for just 170.

Due to poor weather, the game entered the reserve day.

It is first major ICC trophy for the Black Caps.

It is a major redemption for the Black Caps who had ended runners-up at the 2019 ODI World Cup after losing the final to hosts England on boundary count.

They had also lost the 2015 World Cup final to Australia.

The unbeaten partnership between skipper Kane Williamson (52) and Ross Taylor (47) was worth 96 runs.

India 1st innings scorecard

Rohit Sharmac Southee b Jamieson346860
Shubman Gillc Watling b Wagner286430
Cheteshwar Pujaralbw b Boult85420
Virat Kohlilbw b Jamieson4413210
Ajinkya Rahanec Latham b Wagner4911750
Rishabh Pantc Latham b Jamieson42210
Ravindra Jadejac Watling b Boult155320
R Ashwinc Latham b Ashwin222430
Ishant Sharmac Taylor b Jamieson41600
Jasprit Bumrahlbw b Jamieson0100
Mohammed Shaminot out4110
Total: 217-10 in 92.1 Overs
Tim Southee226641
Trent Boult21.14472
Kyle Jamieson2212315
Colin de Grandhomme126320
Neil Wagner155402

New Zealand first innings scorecard

Tom Lathamc Kohli b Ashwin3010430
Devon Conwayc Shami b Ishant5415360
Kane Williamsonc Kohli b Ishant4917760
Ross Taylorc Gill b Shami113720
Henry Nichollsc Rohit b Ishant72310
BJ Watlingb Shami1300
Colin de Grandhommelbw b Shami133010
Kyle Jamiesonc Bumrah b Shami211601
Tim Southeeb Jadeja304612
Neil Wagnerc Rahane b Ashwin0500
Trent Boultnot out7810
Total: 249-10 in 99.2 Overs
Ishant Sharma259483
Jasprit Bumrah269570
Mohammed Shami268764
R Ashwin155282
Ravindra Jadeja7.22201

India second innings scorecard

Rohit Sharmalbw b Southee308120
Shubman Gilllbw b Southee83300
Cheteshwar Pujarac Taylor b Jamieson158020
Virat Kohlic Watling b Jamieson132900
Ajinkya Rahanec Watling b Boult154010
Rishabh Pantc Nicholls b Boult418840
Ravindra Jadejac Watling b Wagner164920
R Ashwinc Taylor b Boult71900
Mohammed Shamic Latham b Southee131030
Ishant Sharmanot out1600
Jasprit Bumrahc Latham b Southee0400
Total: 170-10 in 73 Overs
Tim Southee194484
Trent Boult152393
Kyle Jamieson2410302
Neil Wagner152441

New Zealand 2nd innings scorecard

Tom Lathamst Pant b Ashwin94100
Devon Conwaylbw b Ashwin194740
Kane Williamsonnot out528980
Ross Taylornot out4710060
Total: 140-2 in 45.5 Overs
Ishant Sharma6.22210
Mohammed Shami10.53310
Jasprit Bumrah10.42350
R Ashwin105172
Ravindra Jadeja81250