Kings XI Punjab retain Gayle for IPL 2021

Article Top Banner 1

Kings XI have retained several players from the IPL 2020 campaign, including the Universe boss, Chris Gayle.

KL Rahul will continue as Kings XI Punjab skipper.

The franchise retained 16 players and released 9, including Glenn Maxwell and Sheldon Cottrell.

KXIP head coach Anil Kumble said that their plan is to fill those gaps in the coming auction so that KXIP will be a solid team going into the 2021.

“The plan was to keep the core team and make sure that players who are part of the last season continue into this season as well”

“We believe that this group along with whoever we will pick in the auction will be able to turn things around for the side. It is important for us to look to keep the squad similar and hope for a better performance in the coming season,” Kumble added.

Retained: KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Nicholas Pooran, Mandeep Singh, Sarfaraz Khan, Deepak Hooda, Prabhsimran Singh, Mohammed Shami, Chris Jordan, Darshan Nalkande, Ravi Bishnoi, Murugan Ashwin, Arshdeep Singh, Harpreet Brar, Ishan Porel

Released: Glenn Maxwell, Karun Nair, Hardus Viljoen, Jagadeesha Suchith, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Sheldon Cottrell, Jimmy Neesham, Krishnappa Gowtham, Tajinder Singh