India’s greatest Test victories on Australian soil

Article Top Banner 1

When India, marshalled by Ajinkya Rahane beat Australia at MCG to level the series 1-1, it was truly a golden day in the annals of Indian cricket.

After all, a victory on an overseas tour is always special, even more so against the men in baggy green.

In fact, it is the only the eighth time India has prevailed over Australia while playing down under.

Let’s look at the 6 memorable instances when India created history by defeating the Aussies.

1. At Melbourne Cricket Ground, by 222 runs in 1977

On their third tour to Australia, Indians finally managed to register their first Test win, which came against Bob Simpson’s side in 1977 at Melbourne.

Led by Bishan Singh Bedi, India came into the Sydney Test after losing the first two Tests – at Brisbane by 16 runs and at Perth by two wickets respectively.

Sunil Gavaskar hit a brilliant 118 in the second innings before spin pair of B S Chandrasekhar and Bishen Singh Bedi took six and four wickets each to bundle out Australia for 164 runs. Chandrasekhar had a 12-wicket haul in the match.

Scores: India – 256 and 343; Australia – 213 and 164

2. At Sydney Cricket Ground, by an innings and 2 runs in 1978

This is one of India’s greatest Test wins. Once again, the Indian spinners were at their best, bowling out Australia for just 131 in the first innings and then 263 in the second.

A fine 79-run knock by Gundappa Viswanath in the middle order alongside small contributions from Gavaskar, Chetan Chauhan, Dilip Vengsarkar set up the win for India.

Not to forget, Karsan Ghavri who scored a 64 batting at No 9.

Scores: Australia – 131 and 263; India – 396/8 declared

3. At Melbourne Cricket Ground, by 59 runs in 1981

Gundappa Vishwanath scored one of his greatest centuries – 114 but India were still bowled out for 237. Australia replied with a big total aided by Allan Border’s punishing century.

Chetan Chauhan and Sunil Gavaskar were among runs in the second innings but an injured Kapil Dev bowled one of the spells of his life to bag 5-23 in the second innings to bowl Aussies out for 83.

Dilip Doshi chipped in with the key wickets of Kim Hughes and Graeme Wood but it was Ghavri’s first ball dismissal of Greg Chappell that proved decisive.

Scores: India – 237 and 324; Australia – 419 and 83.

4. At Adelaide Oval by 4 wickets in 2003

Australia rode on Ricky Ponting’s magnificent 242 to post massive 556.

But India responded with a pas score of 523 with Rahul Dravid (233) and VVS Laxman (148) taking on the Aussie bowlers.

Then Ajit Agarkar took a six-wicket haul conceding just 33 runs to dismiss the Aussies for 196 in the third innings.

Scores: Australia – 556 and 196; India – 523 and 233/6

5. At WACA Ground by 72 runs in 2008

This was a tour surrounded by many controversies, from Monkey Gate to umpiring errors. Indians lost the first two Tests against a strong Aussie outfit.

India’s young pacers – Irfan Pathan, RP Singh and Ishant Sharma – combined to push Aussies on back foot, sharing eight wickets between them as hosts were bowled out for only 212.

In second innings, courtesy of a VVX Laxman fifty, Indians managed to put 294 on the board, giving Aussies a difficult target of 412. The hosts could only manage 340, giving India their first taste of victory on that tour in Tests.

India’s man of the hour was Irfan Pathan, who five wickets and scored 74 runs in the match.

Scores: India – 330 and 294; Australia – 212 and 340

6. At Adelaide Oval by 31 runs in 2018

Cheteshwar Pujara scored 123 and 71 to set up a memorable win. Jasprit Bumrah and Ravichandran Ashwin took six wickets each in the match.

Rishabh Pant equalled the world record of 11 dismissals in a match. Rahane contributed 70 in the second innings.

Scores: India – 250 and 307; Australia – 235 and 291.