Chelsea are the Champions

Image courtesy Twitter account of Chelsea FC
Article Top Banner 1

Chelsea won the Champions League for the second time in their history, beating Manchester City 1-0.

Havertz ran onto Mason Mount’s perfectly weighted through-ball and skipped by City goalkeeper Ederson Moraes before slotting the ball into an empty net in the 42nd minute.

Chelsea added to the first European Cup it won in 2012 and become the 13th multiple winner of world soccer’s biggest club competition.

Chelsea manager Thomas Tuchel got his hands on the trophy a year after losing in the 2020 final with Paris Saint Germain.

Surprisingly, Guardiola went without a specialist holding midfielder in Fernandinho or Rodri – a decision that proved costly.

This meant Ilkay Gundogan, City’s top scorer this season, dropped in as the anchor man in midfield and he struggled to protect City’s defense as Kante ran riot for Chelsea.

Lacking a defensive spine, City struggled to create any meaningful chance and it was left to Chelsea to do most of the attacking.

City’s best moment of the first half came midway through it when De Bruyne fed Foden only for Rüdiger to stretch into a saving challenge.

Werner, who repeatedly got behind City’s full backs, squandered two great chances before the goal, first mis-kicking from Havertz’s cut-back and then shooting tamely at Ederson from close range.

City could still fancy their chances as long as their captain Kevin de Bruyne was on the pitch but saw their chances sink when he was forced off in the 60th minute after a clash of heads with Antonio Rudiger.

Fernandinho finally came on in the 64th minute, but it was too late.

Chelsea created another glorious chance when Christian Pulisic, the first American player to feature in a Champions League final, ran onto Havertz’s pass but slipped a shot just wide.

Sergio Aguero was introduced 15 minutes from the end but it was a sad ending to his 10-year career at City slumped to defeat.

Starting line-ups

Manchester City

Ederson, Walker, Dias, Stones, Zinchenko, Gundogan, De Bruyne, Bernardo, Mahrez, Sterling, Foden


Mendy, James, Thiago Silva, Rudiger, Azpilicueta, Kante, Jorginho, Chilwell, Mount, Havertz, Werner