Belgium announce strong squad for Euro 2020

Article Top Banner 1

Belgium, the world’s current No. 1 ranked footballing nation, have confirmed their final 26-man squad for the UEFA European Championship next month.

The 23-member squad will be finalised at least 10 days before the tournament begins.

Belgium will be among the favourites for the tournament.

They are in a group alongside Russia, Denmark and Finland, with their group games scheduled for June 12, June 17 and June 21.

Belgium’s first tournament appearance came in 1972, where they finished third. 

The next time they progressed to the championships in 1980 though, Belgium managed to reach the final, losing to West Germany.

They also qualified for the 2016 Euros, reaching the quarter-finals before surprisingly losing to Wales. 

There are nine players from the Premier League in the squad, including Kevin De Bruyne, FA Cup hero Youri Tielemans and the Crystal Palace strikers, Michy Batshuayi and Christian Benteke.

Belgium manager Roberto Martinez’s full 26-man squad is as follows:


Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid), Simon Mignolet (Club Brugge), Matz Sels (Strasbourg)


Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham), Dedryck Boyata (Hertha Berlin), Jason Denayer (Lyon), Thomas Vermaelen (Vissel Kobe), Jan Vertonghen (Benfica)


Yannick Carrasco (Atletico Madrid), Timothy Castagne (Leicester), Nacer Chadli (Istanbul Basaksehir), Thorgan Hazard (Borussia Dortmund), Thomas Meunier (Borussia Dortmund), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Leander Dendoncker (Wolves), Dennis Praet (Leicester), Youri Tielemans (Leicester), Hans Vanaken (Club Brugge), Axel Witsel (Borussia Dortmund)


Jeremy Doku (Rennes), Eden Hazard (Real Madrid), Dries Mertens (Napoli), Leandro Trossard (Brighton), Michy Batshuayi (Crystal Palace), Christian Benteke (Crystal Palace), Romelu Lukaku (Inter Milan)

Stand-by List

Thomas Kaminski (Blackburn Rovers), Alexis Saelemaekers (AC Milan AC), Albert Sambi Lokonga (Anderlecht), Bryan Heynen (RC Genk), Thomas Foket (Reims), Adnan Januzaj (Real Sociedad), Brandon Mechele (FC Bruges), Jordan Lukaku (Antwerp), Zinho Vanheusden (Standard Liege), Yari Verschaeren (Anderlecht), Charles De Ketelaere (FC Bruges)